Objectives & Constitution

Dewsbury Minster is part of the Dewsbury Team Parish (Church of England) in the Dewsbury Deanery and Halifax Archdeaconry of The Anglican Diocese of Leeds.

The Parish covers a population of 24,000 and continues the Christian involvement in worship, mission and social action which first began in Dewsbury in AD 627.

Dewsbury Minster is governed by The Parochial Church Council (The P.C.C.) of The Dewsbury Team Parish

The Objects and Constitution are:

The P.C.C. of The Dewsbury Team Parish has the responsibility of co-operating with The Team Rector (The Revd. Simon Cash),  and associate clergy, in promoting within the ecclesiastical parish, the whole mission of the Church; pastoral, evangelistic, social and ecumenical.  It also has the maintenance responsibilities for The Minster Church of All Saints, Dewsbury; The Parish Churches of St. John the Evangelist, Dewsbury Moor; and Holy Trinity, Batley Carr.

The Organisational and Decision-Making Structure is:

Governed by Clergy, Lay members on the Electoral Roll who are elected at The Annual Parochial Church Meeting in accordance with the Church Representation Rules, and ex-officio appointees.  Decisions are taken by majority vote by members at regular meetings. 

Charity Law:

Requires members to prepare Financial Statements and an Annual Report for each financial year and all accounts are independently examined by an established firm of Chartered Accountants and lodged with Church House (Diocesan Head Office) at Church House, 17/19 York Place, Leeds, LS1 2EX

Dewsbury Minster is also The North Kirklees Christian “Faith Centre” and part of the Connecting Communities Initiative under the auspices of Kirklees Racial Equality Council.

Simon Cash
Team Rector Designate
Aug 2017 (Updated 2017 – New Diocesan structure)